Her Quondam Lover (Part 2)

Next afternoon, he was searching for Mitra house 26, Behala road. It took couple of enquiries to figure our the Mitra house, a three storey building although little dilapidate with time, but still the grandeur of an bygone era spoke through those walls. He was not sure what he was doing, nor had any idea what he was going to say if someone opens the door.

 

He knocked the door. A female voice enquired.

Key…?  Who is there??

 

Kishore was relived hearing the voice; it was still the same, a soft soothing vox. He did not reply anything.

 

Piyali opened the door.

 

A girl of fifteen disguised in women of twenty five, those twinkling bright eyes, her cherub chicks, her soft curled lips and long flowing hair. Beauty has showered herself more on her with passing time. She was wearing a lemon yellow silk saree and that made her beauty bloom like flowers just after the monsoon.

 

“Hi….do you recognize me. Kishore”

 

“Hiiiiiiiiii…” Her face lightened up seeing Kishore.

 

“What a surprise. How could you find up the place. I was just thinking of you only, whether you got the postcard or not. Ohh sorry… sorry… Please…please come inside.”

 

Kishore went inside. Lavishness and prosperity was evident from every corner of the house. Well decorated room with artefact chosen with much care.

 

“It seems you have proved to be a great wife. I must say your choice is very good.”

 

Kishore remarked on her well decorated living room.

 

“I am just trying to be one. You have to ask my husband how much successful I am in that. Please have a seat. Let me get you some water. This place is quite far from your house and its quite hot outside.”

 

Kishore wanted to say, it did not matter how far her house is. He would have taken the pain to go to a totally different city also in case that was required. But he didn’t say anything.

 

“So tell me, how are you? It’s been such a long time that we met each other. A lot must have happened in your life. Tell me in details. ”

 

Piyali tried to start the conversation while handing him the glass of water.

 

“Nothing much, I left Jadavpur High school after 10th and went to Delhi. After my graduation, I took up a job but my heart was always in writing. So eventually I quit my job and now I am a full time writer.”

 

 

“I loved your book. It is just awesome.” She said indicating the blue covered book on the shelf. He could see his own picture on the back side of the book. It took him days to finalize this picture to be published behind the book. He has seen it millions of times but today, the picture looked new to him. May be he saw it from her point of view.

 

The voice of Piyali awakened him.

 

“What happened, you got lost seeing your own picture” She giggled.

 

“You look really handsome in that pic. Many girls must have fallen for you after reading such a lovely story and more than that seeing such a handsome writer.”

 

Kishore blushed hearing all these. He wanted to change the topic.

 

“So you tell me something about you. About your life after I left.” Kishore said.

 

 “What you want to hear? My life has been quite simple. After you left, when I was in class 12th my father died. It was a difficult time for us and our area being not that a good place; it became all the very difficult for my family. So my mother thought it would be better to marry me off and I married Rajat. It’s been eight long years now that I am married. That’s it. Nothing much in my life.”

 

A sadness gripped Piyali’s eyes speaking all these and she avoided gaze with Kishore.

 

“Hey I will bring you some ginger tea. I know you used to like it when you were in school. Not sure if you still have the same likings or it changed.”

 

Kishore was surprised to hear that.

 

“You noticed me so much that you know my choices as well!!!!!! I am really surprised and happy to hear that. No I do not change my likings so often. I still love the ginger tea”

 

“Then you are a lucky chap today. I will get you some home baked cake as well. Another thing that you loved like anything”

 

Piyali laughed and went to kitchen. Kishore felt a sense of pride and belonging speaking to her. He could not stop thinking about her and her words. It seemed little weird that they were chatting for the first time. It felt they knew each other from years and just they are catching up on their old days.

 

He got up from the chair and went to kitchen behind Piyali.

 

“So what your husband does? Yours in laws seems to be a quite rich family.”

 

“Yes that’s there. My father in law was a very successful barrister so being rich was easy to them. Rajat works for a multi national company as Vice President and naturally that keeps him busy as well.”

 

Kishore could feel sarcasm in her voice but didn’t say anything.

 

“So you tell, what’s happening in your life. When are you going to get married?”

 

Kishore blushed again but answered honestly.

 

“My Mom is looking for one but nothing has been finalised yet. Let’s see when anything materializes.”

 

They came to the drawing room with the tea and the cake. Suddenly Piyali asked something that startled both of them.

 

“So Kishore what made you bring here. You never spoke to me when we were in school?”

 

Kishore was taken aback by the question. He himself didn’t know what brought him here. All he knew was that he wanted to see her, talk to her now and say whatever he missed saying when he should have said them. But those things do not hold true now. She is happily married and there is no point saying all these now. Still he felt little tinge in his heart as if something is boiling inside. He felt a sudden courage in himself to say and do things that he had never thought of his forte.

 

He took out the cigarette from his pocket.

 

“Can I smoke?”

 

 

She picked the ashtray and put in front of him without saying anything. She constantly stared him and that made Kishore little nervous. He puffed nervously and the puff puffed his nerves.

 

Kishore looked down and said slowly, his voice trembling.

 

“I loved you a lot when I was in school and after so many years I still feel the same Piyali. I could not help but say this to you. I am sorry.”

 

The sound echoed in the entire room and then suddenly everything was silent. He could not take his head up and kept staring at her feet. She did not say anything. The silence prevailed and prevailed, god knows for how long. A tiny droplet of tear touched her feet. He looked up to see her eyes were red, and her cheek wet with teardrops. She was crying profusely. Her big bright eyes looked much bigger in the tear drops. He did not know what to say, and went near her and hold her hand. She cupped his palm so tightly that he felt her nails on his skin. They stayed like that for who knows how long, they could have stayed like that for years.

 

She looked at him, in his eyes.

 

“I tried to find out about you when you left the school. But no one knew about your whereabouts. I tried searching for you in all the colleges after my 12th and when they wanted to marry me off. But then also I couldn’t find you. Finally after so many years, when I am married with a family of my own I saw your name in the book shop. I could not help but find out your address and write to you. I never thought you ever felt for me. I just wanted to speak to you once Kishore. I just wanted to find out how are you and what are you doing in life.”

 

Kishore hold her face in his palms and looked deep into her eyes. She continued.

 

“Why Kishore…why? Why you came back here now and said those things to me and making me go so weak now. I still love you Kishore. I could never love anyone as much as I loved you.”

 

Tears kept rolling down her dark eyes. Kishore felt his own eyes going wet. He recalled last time he cried was when he had left the school. They sat there embracing each other in silence.

 

It’s in the power of silence…that two souls can touch each other.

 

They touched each other that afternoon.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Her Quondam Lover (Part 2)

  1. Never knew that sometimes you can make such good stories.Now u have started grasping that master story teller’s maturity and flow…Liked it very much…

Leave a comment